It’s the Final Countdown

Deep. Breath. WHEW.

So if you haven’t been able to tell by my various postings on social media, or the relative quiet on my blog front (Seriously, I missed a pi-day post? My grad school thesis was on pi and transcendental numbers in general), HOLY CRAP THIS MONTH IS BUSY. See, I set a goal for myself: Finish draft 2 of Deveroux and Fitch by the end of this month.

It’s been a long time coming. I officially last started this revision 7/1/2015, and it has dragged on waaaaay longer than I have expected. I’ve raved about it before in other posts. But you know what? None of that matters anymore. I’m 9 chapters away.

I am 9 chapters away. That’s it, and then this draft will be FINALLY done. Officially, I’m on Chapter 48  out of 53, but technically I’ve got to double-back for about 3 chapters and fill in some gaps that I know exist. But I can do this.

Europe Final Countdown.PNG
Does anyone actually remember any of their other songs?

It has been exhausting though. In addition to this novel, I am also studying for actuary exams in May (which is to say I’m doing enough problems to keep my head above water but not really enough to get ahead). Oh yeah, and I’ve started working out again because I got tired of being out of shape and I realized I missed lifting.

There’s a lot I want to get back to doing: I have a novella involving giant robots to write. I want to continue pitching some of my short stories. Hell, I want to give this blog more attention and I just haven’t had time yet. Plus oh oh oh once I finish this revision I can start free-writing and researching some ideas for a fantasy trilogy I’ve been brewing.

I’ve got a lot of exciting ideas and I can’t wait to share more. Plus, I totally owe you guys a post about why transcendental numbers are awesome.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

